Respiratory care practitioners get pins

The fifth class of respiratory therapists from Antelope Valley College received their pins during a Thursday evening ceremony at the college’s Lancaster campus.

The 17 students awarded pins were:

Jannette Brandon, Jessica Carrillo, John Dimacali, Jenna Frei, Brenda Hellwig, Christine Jones. Andrew Labib, Robert Lazaro, Abby Livingston, Fernando McGregor, Courtney Miller, Maryanne Montenegro, Erin Oneal, Isaac Onwuegbusi, Charmaine Satterfield, George Vargas and Marcus Williams.

The respiratory therapy program was started at AVC in response to needs expressed within the health care community. The first class graduated in 2008.