Friday, December 19, 2014
Return Home Map

Office for Students With Disabilities: Faculty Resources

OSD staff are strongly committed to support the faculty and to assist in the smooth delivery of courses here at AVC.  If instructors ever have any questions regarding an appropriate support service for a particular student, or have any questions in general, please call us.  We enjoy working with the faculty and take pleasure in assisting our students so they are able to attain their educational goals.  Thank you very much.

Dr. Louis Lucero, Director

661.722.6300, extension 6161

llucero@avc.edu

Michael Hancock, Learning Disability Specialist

661.722.6300, extension 6162

mhancock@avc.edu

Linda Rose, Program Secretary

661.722.6300, extension 6142

lsrose@avc.edu

Debra Lose, Educational Advisor

661.722.6300, extension 6147

dlose@avc.edu

Tamira Palmetto DeSpain, Disability Services Specialist

661.722.6300, extension 6724

tpalmetto@avc.edu

Maricela Ruvalcaba, Learning Disability Testing Technician

661.722.6300, extension 6133

mmarquez@avc.edu

Ann Loi, High Tech Center Lab Technician

661.722.6300, extension 6231

aloi@avc.edu

Ken Sawicki, Access Technology/Alternative Media Specialist

661.722.6300, extension 6697

ksawicki@avc.edu

OSD does not routinely notify instructors if they will be having a student with a disability in their class.  It is important that disabled students learn to communicate directly with the instructor so as to express their needs and to establish a working relationship.  OSD does notify some instructors regarding a student's special needs, only with the student's permission.

Here are some forms faculty are likely to be presented with from a student with a disability: