

ANTELOPE VALLEY COLLEGE FACULTY PROFESSIONAL DEVELOPMENT COMMITTEE

November 12, 2008 2:00 p.m. – A140

To conform to the open meeting act, the public may attend open sessions

- 1. CALL TO ORDER AND ROLL CALL
- 2. OPENING COMMENTS FROM THE CHAIR
- 3. OPEN COMMENTS FROM THE PUBLIC
- 4. APPROVAL OF MINUTES

None

5. ACTION ITEMS

None

- 6. DISCUSSION
 - a. ITS Training Events
 - b. Union Surveys Informational Item
- 7. REPORTS
 - a. Committee Composition Work Group Diane Flores-Kagan, Mark Hoffer, Richard Coffman, and Glenn Buxton
 - b. Faculty Professional Development Guideline Work Group Jack Halliday, Cindy Lehman, and Rona Brynin
 - c. Welcome Back Day 2009 2010 Rona Brynin, and Diane Flores-Kagan
 - d. Adjunct Survey -
- 8. OTHER
- 9. ADJOURNMENT

NON-DISCRIMINATION POLICY

Antelope Valley College prohibits discrimination and harassment based on sex, gender, race, color, religion, national origin or ancestry, age, disability, marital status, sexual orientation, cancer-related medical condition, or genetic predisposition. Upon request, we will consider reasonable accommodation to permit individuals with protected disabilities to (1) complete the employment or admission process, (b) perform essential job functions, (c) enjoy benefits and privileges of similarly-situated individuals without disabilities, and (d) participate in instruction, programs, services, activities, or events.



ANTELOPE VALLEY COLLEGE FACULTY PROFESSIONAL DEVELOPMENT COMMITTEE MEETING

November 12, 2008

1. CALL TO ORDER AND ROLL CALL

Kathryn Mitchell, Faculty Professional Development Chair, called the meeting to order at 2:05 p.m.

2. OPEN COMMENTS FROM THE CHAIR

None

3. OPEN COMMENTS FROM THE PUBLIC

None

4. APPROVAL OF MINUTES

None

5. ACTION ITEMS

None

6. DISCUSSION

a. ITS Training Events

Kathryn reported she contacted Connie Moise regarding the complaints the committee has received about the five (5) person maximum for Technical Training events and the lack of hands on experience. The justification provided for limiting the events to five participants was due to the difficulties of coordinating a computer laboratory. In addition, Connie stated she has talked to Greg about including additional hands on components to the Information Technology (ITS) Trainings. She also stated ITS is working on creating a Webnar type Technical Training opportunities to offer in the future. These types of Technical Training opportunities will afford any faculty and or staff member the opportunity to participate in training event from either on or off campus. Offering Webnar type Technical Training events will be very helpful in the 2009 – 2010 Professional Development Program in completing Standard 1 – Faculty Academy event without having to physically be on campus.

Connie reported establishing an online registration process for limited participation has been placed on the ITS project to do list. She could not provide a definitive completion date, but ensured the project will be completed.

b. Union Survey Informational Item

Kathryn reported two surveys have been distributed by both Unions, which included survey questions regarding the Faculty Professional Development Program and were not distributed to all faculty. One of the questions on the Certificated Union Survey is the purview of the Faculty Professional Development Committee. There is some concern about the rational behind the questions asked regarding the program because the Certificated Union was completely aware and supportive of the proposed changes to the program. Committee members expressed their concern regarding the inequity of the distribution of the survey and questioned what will be the outcome of the findings. Kathryn announced she believes the Union will use the information as part of the negotiation process for the upcoming year. She announced she would look into the matter further and report back any new information obtained after speaking with Union Executive members.

7. REPORTS

a. Committee Composition Work Group – Mark Hoffer, Richard Coffman, and Glen Buxton

Two discussions have taken place regarding the current committee composition. Some of the discussion included adding an Adjunct Faculty representative, adding the Tenure Review Coordinator, and remove the Faculty Academy Coordinator. Kathryn announced an action item would be place on the next agenda to formally approve the proposed changes.

b. Faculty Professional Development Guidelines Work Group – Jack Halliday, Cindy Lehman, Rona Brynin, and Judy Sullivan

The work group did not have any new information to report.

c. Welcome Back Day 2009 – 2010 – Diane Flores-Kagan, Rona Brynin, Mark Hoffer, and Sherri Zhu

This group has two main goals: provide an opportunity for faculty to convene on campus as a unit, and coordinate Faculty Academy break out sessions (discuss any changes that may be needed, improve the timeline for the day, coordinate and research potential guest speakers).

d. Adjunct Survey

Kathryn reported no one came forward to serve on this work group, therefore she will make efforts to meet with Patricia Sandoval to request assistance in formulating survey questions and forward them to the committee for input. Committee members engaged in a brief discussion about whether to create a survey for all faculty and how to go about distribution of the survey (electronically vs. hard copy). There was some concern regarding not obtaining a true reflection of faculty input if the committee chose to perform the survey strictly online. Committee members suggested possibly distributing a half sheet notification to all faculty indicating a survey is being compiled and include the link to access the survey.

8. OTHER

• The next Faculty Professional Development meeting will occur on Wednesday, November 19, 2008 to avoid any conflict with the Thanksgiving holiday.

9. ADJOURNMENT

A motion was made and seconded to adjourn the November 13, 2008 Flex meeting at 3:02 p.m. Motion carried.

MEMBERS PRESENT		GUESTS	ABSENT MEMBERS
Rona Brynin	Mark Hoffer		
Richard Coffman	Cindy Lehman		Glenn Buxton
Jeff Cooper	Kathryn Mitchell		
Carol Eastin	Dr. Tom O'Neil		Casey Scudmore
Diane Flores-Kagan	Judy Sullivan		
Jack Halliday	Sherri Zhu		