

DATE: May 2, 2019

TO: Deans, Directors, Faculty

FROM: Ed Knudson, President

Vejea Jennings and Tamira Palmetto Despain, Honors Program Co-coordinators

SUBJECT: 2018-19 Subject Area Awards – Honorees

It gives us great pleasure to provide you with the names of the outstanding students who have been selected for Subject Area Awards this year. The following is a list of those students who have excelled and will be receiving a certificate at the Honors Convocation on Friday, May 10, 2019, from 8:00 a.m. to 10:00 a.m. in the Performing Arts Theatre. It would be greatly appreciated if the nominating faculty members could attend to assist in presenting the certificates to the students at the Convocation. Thank you for your participation in recognizing these successful students.

2018-19 SUBJECT AREA AWARDS			
STUDENT NAME	NOMINATING INSTRUCTORS	SUBJECT AREA	
ARTS & HUMANITIES			
Dylan Padilla	Jimmy Laiben, David Babb	Studio Arts	
Jennifer Flores Gracias	Daniel Warda, Dr. Ariel Tumbaga	Spanish	
Gracie Teed	Cindy Littlefield, Rochelle Guardado	Dance	
Shane Davenport	Cynthia Kincaid, Adrienne King	Digital Media	
Amal Al Salek	Alberto Mendoza, Mark Pressman	Philosophy	
Seyed Montazeri	Alberto Mendoza, Mark Pursley	Philosophy	
David Ornelas	Rae Agahari, Christine Mugnolo	Art History	
April-Star Collins	Carla Corona, Jeff Wienckowski	Theater Arts	
	Jeff Wienckowski, Kirk Vichengrad, Jonet		
Jason Lopez	Leighton	Theater Arts	
	Jonet Leighton, Erika Newman, Suzanne		
Ashley Lopez	Wakefield	Theater Arts	
Sara Beaudin	Jane Macfie, Genie Trow	Theater Arts	

CAREER TECHNICAL EDCUATION		
Steven Weber	Joe Owens, Val Rael, Lawrence Oribio	Air Conditioning & Refrigeration Spec
Enrique Sosa Flores	Kimberly Burton, Kirk Sennett	Electrical Technology
Jonathan Rodriguez	Kimberly Burton, Kirk Sennett	Electrical Technology
Jazzmine Lasslett	Sharon Wilson, Kent Moser	Medical Assistant
Caitlin Giron	Sharon Wilson, Gabrielle Poorman	Clinical Medical Assistant Cert
Larry Lopez	Jimmie Bowen, Roland Thomas	Computer Networking Multi-Platform
Steffen Milner	Stacey Adams, David Adams	Business Administration for Transfer
Austin Pepiak	Stacey Adams, David Adams	Business Administration for Transfer
Mariela Toledo	Stacey Adams, David Adams	Professional Bookkeeping

HEALTH & SAFETY SCIENCES		
Linda Wood	Patricia Karnstedt, Paularita Bossier	Medical Office Assisting

MATH SCIENCE & ENGINEERING		
Linh San Trinh-Nguyen	Michael Tran, Pavinee Villapando	Math, Sciences & Engineering
Michelle Grimes	Dr. Alexandra Schroer, Dr. Jessica Harper	Math, Sciences & Engineering
Enrique Osorio	Dr. Mark McGovern, Christos Valiotis	Math, Sciences & Engineering
Leslie Burroughs	Debra Feickert, Dr. Joseph Esdin	Math, Sciences & Engineering
Kyle Allen	Dr. David Newman, Carlos Hernandez	Math, Sciences & Engineering
Abraham Alseryani	Dr. Joseph Esdin, Dr. Zia Nisani, Debra Feickert	Math, Sciences & Engineering

RHETORIC & LITERACY		
Burgess, Mark	Dr. Rachel Jennings, Scott Covell	English
Amanda Bohannan	Scott Covell, John Toth	English
Sydney Cruz Romero	Vejea Jennings, Angela Koritsoglou	English
Alecxis Rubic	Nari Kaseforth, Dr. Richie Hao	Communication Studies
Jarod Cleveland	Harish Rao, Nari Kaseforth	Communication Studies

SOCIAL & BEHAVIOR SCIENCES		
Jason Albo	Dr. Fredy Aviles, Rachael Thibault	Psychology
Gabriel Rodriguez	Dexter Cummins, Tim Lynskey	Administration of Justice
Rogee Rogers	Dr. Ibrahim Ganley, John Vento	Economics
Rachael Berry	Melissa Ramiro, Marshion Nowden	Clothing & Textiles
Gloria Larios	Jonathan Saxon, Dr. Ken Shafer	History
Alexandria Melmoth	Dr. Ken Shafer, Dr. Matthew Jaffe	History
Dusti Box	Ande Sanders, Kimberly Barker	Child & Family Education
Sydney Cruz Romero	Ande Sanders, Kimberly Barker	Child & Family Education
Rogee Rogers	John Vento, Dr. Nancy Bednar	Political Science
Joaquin Escalante	John Vento, Dr. Nancy Bednar	Political Science
Emily Rausch	Dr. Darcy Wiewall, Sean Cranley, David Earle	Anthropology