Student Clubs & Organizations

Student Life and Services: Student Clubs & Organizations

All registered students are eligible for membership in the clubs and organizations of their choice. Students are encouraged to form additional clubs and organizations to meet special needs or interests.  All new clubs and organizations are a part of the Inter-Club Council (ICC) after approval from the Board of Trustees.  Having a minimum of 10 students, faculty advisor and completing the necessary paperwork is all that is needed to begin.  The Student Life and Services Office assists all clubs in processing and paperwork in maintaining all the club's financial records and banking needs.

Active Clubs

  • AAMEND

Advisor:  Vejae Jennings, vjennings@avc.edu.

​Club Focus:  To promote the enhancement of enrollment, success, empowerment, leadership, networking, professionalism, and graduation of individuals among Aftrican American Latino, and other male students.


  • Asian Culture Club

Advisor:  Alberto Mendoza, amendoza2@avc.edu  

​Club Focus:  To contribute to the education of students by providing opportunities to understand and appreciate Asian Culture.


Advisors:  Dr. Matthew Jaffe, mjaffe@avc.edu, Thomas Graves, tgraves3@avc.edu, and Dr. Mark McGovern, mmcgovern@avc.edu.

​Club Focus:  A society to promote and recognizes high scholastic achievement while also serving the community.


  • American Native Yonutenen Association

Advisors:  Jeffery Cooper, jcooper9@avc.edu

Club Focus:  To establish connections with tribal nations to offer volunteer services and to promote indigenous culture through workshops and events.


  • Anthropology Club

Advisors:  Dr. Darcy Wiewall, dwiewall@avc.edu,

Club Focus:  To gain further knowledge on the holistic perspective with a focus on the subfields:  physical, cultural, archaeology, and linguistics.


  • ASL @ AVC - American Sign Language Club

Advisors:  Maurice Boyd, mboyd@avc.edu and Daniel Humphrey, dhumphrey@avc.edu

Club Focus:  To bridge the gap between the hearing students and the local Deaf community, to foster a positive understand and perspective of the Deaf community through the practice of Deaf cultural norms and through the use of American Sign Language.


  • AVC Digital Media

Advisor:  Cynthia Kincaid, ckincaid@avc.edu  

Club Focus:  ​To enhance and promote the skills and talent of digital media students via workshops, exhibits, and festivals on campus.


  • AVC French

Advisor:  

​Club Focus:  To bring French awareness to the campus and community.


  • AVC Percussion Association

          Advisor: Gary Heaton - Smith, gheatonsmith@avc.edu

Club Focus:  To give percussionist or those interested in becoming percussionists a place to meet, have fun, do percussion related activities.


  • AVC SkillsUSA

            Advisors: Joe Owens, jowens@avc.edu, and Jim Landreth, clandreth@avc.edu

            Club Focus:  To promote Trade, Health, Engineering, Communications, AJ, IT, and Science through teamwork and competition.


  • AVC STEM

Advisor:  Dr. Zia Nisani, znisani@avc.edu

Club Focus:  ​To increase the interest, education, networking, visibility and social support for STEM majors and to advocate for STEM programs.


  • AVC Yoga Club

             Advisor:  Rochelle Guardado, rguardado@avc.edu

Club Focus:  To enrich the Yoga Teacher Training Program and to make available yogic practices on campus.


  • Black Student Union

Advisor:  Scott Lee, slee@avc.edu

Club Focus:  To develop positive social outlets and instill pride and self-esteem.  Open to anyone who wants to deepen their understanding of the African experience.


  • Child and Family Education 

Advisor:  Kim Barker, kbarker2@avc.edu

Club Focus:  To provide learning opportunities to foster professional and personal growth.


  • Cinema Club

Advisor:  Alissa Welch, awelsch@avc.edu

Club Focus:  To provide an outlet for those interested in directing, filmmaking techniques, producing, writing, acting, and editing.


  • CNSA

 Advisor:  Mary Jacobs, mjacobs2avc.edu

Club Focus:  To create an atmosphere of professional behavior and foster the transition from student to professional nursing through leadership, activism, and advocacy.


  • Elohist

Advisor:  Sherri Zhu, shu@avc.edu, and Cindy Littlefield, clittlefield@avc.edu

Club Focus:  To educate our fellow students as the value of spiritual understanding and spiritual well being.  Only when we understand ourselves both physically and spiritually can we truly make a positive impact on our community.


  • English

Advisor:  Scott Covell, scovell@avc.edu

Club Focus:  To read, write, and discuss various forms of literature and develop reading and writing skills.


  • Fireside FCA 

Advisor:  Perry Jehlidka, pjehlidka@avc.edu, Cindy Vargas, cvargas@avc.edu

Club Focus:  To establish and environment whereby students, athletes, coaches, and faculty can meet to learn about student and discuss biblical principles, precepts, and applications for daily living.


  • Gaming Club

          Advisor: Ryan Rivas, rrivas8@avc.edu

Club Focus:  To promote awareness of E-sports and create a welcoming environment for casual, competitive gaming.


  • HOLA

Advisor: Tanya McGinnis, tmcginnis1@avc.edu

Club focus:  To expose the AVC community to the rich and diverse Hispanic culture.  To promote intellectual discussion, tolerance of cultural backgrounds, and foster cultural insight.


  • Industrial Hemp Student Alliance 

Advisor:  Neal Weisenberger, nweisenberger@avc.edu

Club Focus:  To educate the community at AVC in the environmental sustainability benefits from cultivating industrial hemp.


  • Mock Trial

    Advisors:  Alberto Mendoza, amendoza89@avc.edu

    Club Focus:  To compete in competitions against other colleges as well as give members the opportunity to practice being a lawyer.


 

  • Photography Club

            Advisor:

            Club Focus:  Raiser funds for the department and form a connection between local photographers.  


  • Pre-Law Club

         Advisors:  Alberto Mendoza, amendoza89@avc.edu

         Club Focus:  To allow students with an interest in law to explore the world of law.


  • Pride Advocates

          Advisor: Cole Mc Candless, cmccandless@avc.edu

Club Focus:  To affirm all sexual and gender identities in our community here at AVC as well as our community within the Antelope Valley.


  • Psychology Student Organization

Advisor: Fredy Aviles, faviles@avc.edu

Club Focus:  We, as students of Antelope Valley College, in order to support the academic pursuits of its member, facilitate psychology-related activities and promote learning of psychology.


  • Respiratory Care Spring 2020

Advisor: Wendy Stout, wstout@avc.edu

Club Focus:  To support respiratory care classes for graduation and pinning ceremony.


  • Smokin' Tires

Advisor: Rod Sproule, rsproule@avc.edu

Club Focus:  To learn to build a demolition car and have fun while doing so.


  • Student Nurses Association (SNAC)

Club Focus:  Work to obtain funds for the RN program through fundraising activities for pinning and graduation ceremony.

  • SNAC Fall 2019  

          Advisor:  Susan Snyder, ssnyder@avc.edu

  • SNAC Spring 2020

          Advisor:  Debra Dickinson, ddickinson@avc.edu

  • SNAC Fall 2020

          Advisor:  Marya Latuno, mlatuno@avc.edu

  • SNAC Spring 2021

          Advisor: 


  • Sociological Society 

Advisor:  Ron Chapman, rcchapman@avc.edu

Club Focus:  To promote an atmosphere of learning where students and faculty collaborate in a shared passion for sociology, its theories, methods, and unique approaches.  We strive to foster a forum guided by intelligence and mutual respect for all who choose to contribute to our team.  We strive to be open to all who desire to use their  knowledge of social sciences for the benefit of society and who are dedicated to spreading an awareness of the field of sociology and the many benefits the science of human society holds all of us; both personally and collectively.


  • SWAN - Students With Ambition for Nursing

Advisor: Candace Martin, cmartin@avc.edu

Club Focus:  To help students who want to become nurses.


  • Theater Arts Club

Advisor: Jonet Leighton, jleighton@avc.edu, Eugenie Trow, etrow@avc.edu, Suzanne Wakefield, swakefield@avc.edu, Carla Corona, ccorona2@avc.edu

Club Focus:  To support theatrical practitioners, create student produced work, and explore the theatrical world.


  • Umoja Students 

Advisor: Marshion Nowden, mnowden@avc.edu

Club Focus:  To bring unity, monitoring and community among AVC students.


 

  • Veterans

Advisor:  Edward Knudson,eknudson@avc.edu,  Ashley Johnson, ajohnson168@avc.edu

Club Focus:  To provide social groups, help veterans adjust to and become successful in civilian and college life; to bridge the gap amongst veterans and students at AVC.

 

 

Last updated: July 24, 2019