Skip to main content
Menu

Student Life and Services: Student Clubs & Organizations

All registered students are eligible for membership in the clubs and organizations of their choice. Students are encouraged to form additional clubs and organizations to meet special needs or interests.  All new clubs and organizations are a part of the Inter-Club Council (ICC) after approval from the Board of Trustees.  Having a minimum of 10 students, faculty advisor and completing the necessary paperwork is all that is needed to begin.  The Student Life and Services Office assists all clubs in processing and paperwork in maintaining all the club's financial records and banking needs.

Active Clubs

Advisors:  Dr. Matthew Jaffe, mjaffe@avc.edu, Thomas Graves, tgraves3@avc.edu, and David Adams dadams29@avc.edu

To develop programs offering cultural, social, or enrichment experiences as being community college students and members of the society.  To sponsor and promote seminars designed to assist members in scholastic achievement.

  • Anthropology Club

Advisors:  Dr. Darcy Wiewall, dwiewall@avc.edu,

To gain further knowledge on the holistic perspective with a focus on the subfields:  physical, cultural, archaeology, and linguistics.

  • ASL @ AVC - American Sign Language Club

Advisors:  Daniel Hunphrey, dhumjphrey@avc.edu, and Maurice Boyd, mboyd@avc.edu

To bridge the gap between the hearing students and the local Deaf community,  to foster a positive understand and perspective of the Deaf community through the practice of Deaf cultural norms and through the use of American Sign Language.

  • AVC Film Club

Advisors: Scott Covell, scovell@avc.edu, and Lisa Karlstein, lkarlstein@avc.edu

To create an environment for film lovers to express their ideas for making short films, discuss filmmaking in general, and analyze professional and independent films.

  • AVC Mock Trial

Advisors: David Adams dadams29@avc.edu, Kenneth Lee, klee23@avc.edu, and Alberto Mendoza, amendoza89@avc.edu

AVC Mock Trial allows students with an interest in law to gain critical thinking and public speaking skills and witness the judical process in action.

  • AVC Sociology 

Advisor:  Ronald Chapman, rcchapman@avc.edu

To promote an atmosphere of learning where students and faculty collaborate in a shared passion for sociology, its theories, methods, and unique approaches.  We strive to foster a forum guided by intelligence and mutual respect for all who choose to contribute to our team.  We strive to be open to all who desire to use their  knowledge of social sciences for the benefit of society and who are dedicated to spreading an awareness of the field of sociology and the many benefits the science of human society holds all of us; both personally and collectively.

  • AVC STEM Club

Advisor:  Dr. Zia Nisani, znisani@avc.edu

To facilitate the interest, education, and networking ability of STEM majors at Antelope Valley College.  To increase the visibility of the social support for STEM and educate for STEM programs at AVC.

  • Black Student Union

Advisor:  Jason Bowen, jbowen@avc.edu

To enhace indiviual academic achievement to instill pride and self-esteem through African history and culture.  To empower positive change.

  • C-1 Aviation

Advisor:  Elaine Blewett, eblewett@avc.edu

To build a strong foundation for those entering the AFAR and AFMT progams. Closing the eduational gap between the programs in order to enhance the qulity of education and overall aviation work force.

  • CNSA

 Advisor:  Vickie Beatty, vbeatty@avc.edu

To enhance leadership skills in nursing students as well as teach preparatory skills for these students future career.  This includes student, organizational and communication skills.

  • Code Nurse

Advisor:  Candy Martin, cmartin@avc.edu

To raise funds for their LVN pinning ceremony.

  • Elohist

Advisor:  Sherri Zhu, shu@avc.edu

To educate our fellow students as the value of spiritual understanding and spiritual well being.  Only when we understand ourselves both physically and spiritually can we truly make a positive impact on our community.

  • Fashion & Costume Society

Advisor:  Melissa Ramiro, mramiro@avc.edu

To be a union of individuals dedicated to participate and contribute to the community, charities, fashion events and promote fellowship amoungst members.  To focus on fashion, costumes and the like.  To promote awareness of the Clothing and Textiles program at Antelope Valley College and to promote the indiviuals within the club.  To build a network of connections.

  • Guardian Scholars

Advisor: Laurel Johnson, ljohnson@avc.edu

To create a safe and social environment to motivate, support and help transition current and former Foster youth who are attending college and be able to provide available resources that may find beneficial to succeed in their daily educational goals.

  • LGBTQIA ++ Pride Advocates

             Advisor: Cole Mc Candless, cmccandless@avc.edu

To affirm all sexual and gender identities in our community here at AVC as well as our community within the Antelope Valley.

  • Pre-Law Club

             Advisor: Nancy Bednar, nbednar@avc.edu, Alberto Mendoza, amendoza89@avc.edu, and Rosa Fuller, rfuller@avc.edu

  • Psychology Student Organization

Advisor: Fredy Aviles, faviles@avc.edu

We, as students of Antelope Valley College, in order to support the academic pursuits of its member, facilitate psychology-related activities and promote learning of psychology.

  • SkillsUSA

Advisors:  Justin Shores, jshores@avc.edu, and Gary Wheeler, gwheeler@avc.edu

To promote trade, Health, Engineering, Communications, AJ, IT, and Science through team work and competition.

  • Student Nurses Association (SNAC)

Clubs support nursing classes for graduation and pinning ceremony.

  • SNAC Spring 2017
  • SNAC Fall 2017
  • SNAC Spring 2018
  • Students for Sensible Drug Policy

Advisor:  Ronald Chapman, rcchapman@avc.edu

To educate students on harm reduction and sensible drug use.  To motivate and empower young people to participate in the political process, to achieve a safer and more just future.

  • STARS 17

Advisor:  Robert Desch, rdesch@avc.edu

To support the Radiologic Technology program club members through to graduation and pinning ceremony.

  • Veterans

Advisor:  Edward Knudson,eknudson@avc.edu

To provide social groups and to help veterans adjust to and become successful in civilian and college life; to bridge the gap amongst veterans and students at AVC.

  • Yoga Club

Advisor:  Kathy Bingham, kbingham@avc.edu and Lisa Karlstein, lkarlstein@avc.edu

To make available yogic practices on campus.  This would include but is not limited to asana practice, yogic diet and philosophy.

 

Last updated: March 15, 2017