Skip to main content
Menu
AVC Student Services

Academics: Community College Pathway to Law School

Also known as Law Scholars Program

Interested In Attending Law School?

Antelope Valley College is now accepting applications for the Law Scholars program. The AVC Law Scholars program is designed to prepare community college students for admission to law school in California. Program benefits include financial aid counseling, academic advising, LSAT prep, exposure to the legal profession and other steps designed to increase the interest of community college students in law school.

 

 

Law Conference

 

 

Participating Law Schools

  • University of Southern California Gould School of Law
  • University of San Francisco School of Law
  • UC Davis School of Law
  • UC Irvine School of Law
  • Santa Clara University School of Law
  • Loyola Marymount Law School

 

 

If you are interested in participating in this program, please COMPLETE THE ONLINE APPLICATION and attend the Law Scholars Fall Orientation. You can also pick up an application in the Career/Transfer Center. 

 

 

AVC students who are interested in receiving announcements and current information about events should join the Law Scholars group page in MyAVC.

Please schedule a follow-up appointment in counseling for a Law Scholar’s educational plan by calling 661-722-6300 ext  6338 or in person at General Counseling located at SSV main lobby

Fall 2017 Orientation

Wednesday, October 18, at 6pm in SSV 151

Followed by a social in the Student Lounge. Everyone is welcome.

Event: Fall 2017 Orientation has been rescheduled to a later date due to a water main break. Please check your myAVC email for an update. 

In the meantime, be sure submit your online application and schedule an appointment with Counselors Rosa Fuller or Bahareh Beheshti (Lancaster) or Towana Catley (Palmdale). Call 661-722-6300 ext 6338 or go to SSV 101 General Counseling window to book. 

 

Pre-Law Club

Law Scholars are encouraged to be a member of the Pre-Law Club. For meeting dates and membership, refer to the group Facebook page "AVC Pre-Law Club"

 

Law Scholars Committee

Dr. Erin Vines, Vice President of Student Services

(661) 722-6300 x 6303

evines@avc.edu

Towana Catley, Counselor 

(661) 722-6300 x 6873

tcatley@avc.edu

Rosa Fuller, Professor/Counselor

(661) 722-6300 x 6290

rfuller@avc.edu

Bahareh Beheshti, Counselor

(661) 722-6300 x 2019

bbeheshti@avc.edu

Dexter Cummins, Professor of Administration of Justice

(661) 722-6300 x 6558

dcummins@avc.edu

Timothy Lynskey, Professor of Administration of Justice

(661) 722-6300 x 6955

tlynskey@avc.edu

Nancy Bednar, Professor of Political Science

(661) 722-6300 x 6876

nbednar@avc.edu

Alberto Mendoza, Professor of Philosophy

(661) 722-6300 x 2151

amendoza2@avc.edu

Diane Walker, AVUHSD Director of Industry Liason & Post-Secondary Partnerships

(661) 575-1025

DWalker@avhsd.org

 

Useful Resources

 

Last updated: October 16, 2017