Skip to main content
 
Menu
AVC Student Services

Academics: Community College Pathway to Law School

Also known as Law Scholars Program

Interested In Attending Law School?

Antelope Valley College is now accepting applications for the Law Scholars program. The AVC Law Scholars program is designed to prepare community college students for admission to law school in California. Program benefits include financial aid counseling, academic advising, LSAT prep, exposure to the legal profession and other steps designed to increase the interest of community college students in law school. Consider AVC 2 CSU for quicker completion to transfer to a CSU.

 

 

Law Conference

 

 

Participating Law Schools

  • University of Southern California Gould School of Law
  • University of San Francisco School of Law
  • UC Davis School of Law
  • UC Irvine School of Law
  • Santa Clara University School of Law
  • Loyola Marymount Law School
  • UC Los Angeles
  • UC Berkeley

 

 

If you are interested in participating in this program, please COMPLETE THE ONLINE APPLICATION and make an appointment with one of the pre-law counselors listed below. 

 

 

 

 

 

Fall 2018 Orientation

Tuesday, September 18, at 5pm in SSV 151
Followed by a social in the Student Lounge. Everyone is welcome.

Event: Wednesday, September 26 12:30pm. Presentation only.

In the meantime, be sure submit your online application and schedule an appointment with Counselors Rosa Fuller or Bahareh Beheshti (Lancaster) or Towana Catley (Palmdale). Call 661-722-6300 ext 6338 or go to SSV 101 General Counseling window to book. 

 

Pre-Law Club

Law Scholars are required to be a member of the Pre-Law Club. For meeting dates and membership, refer to the group Facebook page "AVC Pre-Law Club" or club advisors.

Service Requirements

Students are required to complete a minimum of 30 service hours every semester. See handout. 

 

Law Scholars Committee

Dr. Erin Vines, Vice President of Student Services
(661) 722-6300 x 6303
evines@avc.edu

Towana Catley, Counselor 
(661) 722-6300 x 6873
tcatley@avc.edu

Rosa Fuller, Professor/Counselor
(661) 722-6300 x 6290
rfuller@avc.edu

Bahareh Beheshti, Counselor
(661) 722-6300 x 2019
bbeheshti@avc.edu

Dexter Cummins, Professor of Administration of Justice
Pre-Law Club Advisor
(661) 722-6300 x 6558
dcummins@avc.edu

Timothy Lynskey, Professor of Administration of Justice
(661) 722-6300 x 6955
tlynskey@avc.edu

Nancy Bednar, Professor of Political Science
(661) 722-6300 x 6876
nbednar@avc.edu

Alberto Mendoza, Professor of Philosophy
Pre-Law Club Advisor
(661) 722-6300 x 2151
amendoza2@avc.edu

Diane Walker, AVUHSD Director of Industry Liason & Post-Secondary Partnerships
(661) 575-1025
DWalker@avhsd.org

 

Useful Resources

 

Last updated: July 13, 2018