Community College Pathway to Law School

Also known as Law Scholars Program

Interested In Attending Law School?

Antelope Valley College is now accepting applications for the Law Scholars program. The AVC Law Scholars program is designed to prepare community college students for admission to law school in California. Program benefits include financial aid counseling, academic advising, LSAT prep, exposure to the legal profession and other steps designed to increase the interest of community college students in law school. Consider AVC 2 CSU for quicker completion to transfer to a CSU.

2018 law scholar graduation at Courthouse
2018 Law Scholar Graduation at Courthouse

Participating Law Schools

  • University of Southern California Gould School of Law
  • University of San Francisco School of Law
  • UC Davis School of Law
  • UC Irvine School of Law
  • Santa Clara University School of Law
  • Loyola Marymount Law School
  • UC Los Angeles
  • UC Berkeley

Law Club at Teen Court with Judge McLaughlin-Bennett
Law Club at Teen Court with Judge McLaughlin-Bennett

If you are interested in participating in this program, please COMPLETE THE ONLINE APPLICATION. Please make a follow-up appointment with one of the pre-law counselors by calling (661) 722-6338  or stopping by the counseling appointment window.

 

Fall 2018 Orientation

Tuesday, September 19, at 5:30pm in SSV 151
Followed by a social in the Student Lounge. Everyone is welcome.

Event: Wednesday, September 26 12:30pm in SSV 151. Presentation only.

In the meantime, be sure submit your online application and schedule an appointment with Counselors Rosa Fuller or Bahareh Beheshti (Lancaster) or Towana Catley (Palmdale). Call 661-722-6300 ext 6338 or go to SSV 101 General Counseling window to book. 

Pre Law Club Logo

Pre-Law Club

Law Scholars are required to be a member of the Pre-Law Club and participate in as many activities as possible. The club meets every Thursday in BE 245 from 3pm to 4pm. Upcoming activities may be posted on Facebook. Join  https://www.facebook.com/prelawclubavc.

Field trip to Bankruptcy Court with Judge Tighe
Field trip to Bankruptcy Court with Judge Tighe

Service Requirements

Students are required to complete a minimum of 15 service hours every semester. As of January 2019, students will be requried to complete 30 service hours every semester.  Qualifying activities must be listed on the service learning point tally sheet and must be approved beforehand, by the Pre-law club advisor.  A google sheet version of the hours can  also be submitted online.  
 

Law Scholars Committee

Dr. Erin Vines, Vice President of Student Services
(661) 722-6300 x 6303
evines@avc.edu

Towana Catley, Counselor 
(661) 722-6300 x 6873
tcatley@avc.edu

Rosa Fuller, Professor/Counselor
(661) 722-6300 x 6290
rfuller@avc.edu

Bahareh Beheshti, Counselor
(661) 722-6300 x 2019
bbeheshti@avc.edu

Dexter Cummins, Professor of Administration of Justice
Pre-Law Club Advisor
(661) 722-6300 x 6558
dcummins@avc.edu

Timothy Lynskey, Administration of Science Instructor
(661) 722-6300 x 6955
tlynskey@avc.edu

Nancy Bednar, Professor of Political Science
(661) 722-6300 x 6876
nbednar@avc.edu

Alberto Mendoza, Philosophy Instructor
Pre-Law Club Advisor
(661) 722-6300 x 2151
amendoza2@avc.edu

Diane Walker, AVUHSD Director of Industry Liason & Post-Secondary Partnerships
(661) 575-1025
DWalker@avhsd.org

 

Useful Resources

 

Last updated: November 5, 2018