Contact Us!

Welcome to Antelope Valley College's Student Equity Department  


Student Equity Staff:

Name Title Email Phone
Rashall Hightower Director, Student Equity /Umoja Coordinator RHightower7@avc.edu 6424
Crystal Garcia, M.S. Program Specialist/Umoja Co-Coordinator CGarcia4@avc.edu 6844
Ty Steans Program Specialist | Books HELP & Guardian Scholars TSteans@avc.edu 6156
Golden Hicks Program Specialist | A2Mend & Focus 180 GHicks9@avc.edu 6787
Gabriela Gonzales Clerical Assistant III GGonzales10@avc.edu 6749
Cynthia Gulliford Program Specialist (Hourly) CGulliford@avc.edu 6375

Office Location: SSV-180 (Student Services Building, First Floor, Room 180)

Email: Student_Equity@avc.edu

Phone: 661.722.6300 ext. 6375

PROGRAM EMAILS:

Guardian Scholars: guardian_scholars@avc.edu

Books HELP: bookshelp@avc.edu

AVC Umoja Community: avcumoja@avc.edu

Focus 180: Focus180@avc.edu

Student Equity Committee Meeting Information:

Student Equity Committee Meetings are held on the 2nd Tuesday of each month. To get additional information on this committee, please email Student_Equity@avc.edu 


Student Equity Zoom Front Desk

The Student Equity Department front desk services are also available online via Zoom!

Come and chat with a LIVE person DAILY on the Student Equity Zoom Front Desk.

Monday - Thursday | 8 AM - 5:30 PM

Friday | 7:30 AM - 11:30 AM 

avc.zoom.us | Meeting ID: 998 0410 2077

Student Equity Zoom Front Desk Flyer

 


Student Equity Cranium Café

Cranium Café is a web-based service that uses webcam and audio to supplement the in-person Student Equity experience. With a full-service, online appointment, it allows students to connect with staff.  Online CHAT is also available for students to ask quick and general Student Equity questions.  

Cranium Cafe Basic Instructions:

  • Video Meeting Requirements:
    • Use a smartphone, tablet, laptop or desktop computer which has Chrome or Firefox as your web browser (Chrome is preferred)
  • Shut down all other webpages for a faster connection
  • Have a microphone and webcam activated
  • Test your webcam and audio prior to the meeting here https://my.craniumcafe.com/pre-meeting-check
  • Please review appropriate Netiquette (screen reader version
  • If the Informed Consent Box is not fully visible, please your browsers zoom function for a smaller setting.    

How to initiate a Walk-in Session:

Step 1: Click the “Knock on Door” button on the staff member's Cafe card

Step 2: Current students should login with your student ID and prospective student can create an account through the login page

Step 3: Wait for the pop-up chat window to appear to start the session

Step 4: Click on the Enter Meeting or Enter Lobby button within the chatbox

 

Student Equity Staff on Cranium Café

Rashall Hightower, Director, Student Equity

Crystal Garcia, M.S., Program Specialist

Ty Steans, Program Specialist

 

Last updated: August 24, 2022