Campus
Campus walkway with banners

Sociology - SOC

Sociology is both a scientific and a humanistic discipline. It is concerned with the study of systems of social action and their interrelations. The systems of action include, in increasing order of size and complexity: single social acts, social relationships, organizations, institutions, communities and societies. Survey courses focus on basic sociological theory and analytic techniques. There are also substantive courses in marriage and the family, and social problems. The program includes a variety of courses, and utilizes a number of teaching methods, including those which emphasize student participation through group and individual activity.

 

Sociology - SOC

Department Chair:

Duane Rumsey

Full Time Sociology Faculty

Photo
Name
Email
Office
Extension
Amy Andrada looking ahead. Dr. Amy Andrada aandrada@avc.edu MH 221   
Carina Giorgi smiling. Dr. Carina Giorgi cgiorgi@avc.edu MH 209 6297

Adjunct Sociology Faculty

Photo
Name
Email
Voicemail
Sean Cranley smiling in a suit and tie. Sean Cranley scranley@avc.edu 2205
Siobhan Goldberg smiling, wearing glasses and a blue scarf. Siobhan Goldberg sgoldberg3@avc.edu 2132
Placeholder for photo. Kimberley Howard khoward22@avc.edu 2432
Blake Johnson wearing a pink shirt in front of a cherry blossom tree. Blake Johnson bjohnson29@avc.edu 2424
William Lund smiling in a black button shirt. William Lund wlund@avc.edu 2198
Placeholder for photo. Salvador Nuno snuno1@avc.edu 2411
Placeholder for photo. Marion Robinson mrobinson1@avc.edu 2165
Monica Sterling smiling. Monica Sterling msterling5@avc.edu 2569
Chaka Khan Theus smiling. Chaka Khan Theus ctheus@avc.edu 2169