Community College Pathway to Law

Also known as The Law Scholars Program

Interested In Attending Law School?

The Antelope Valley College Law Scholars program is designed to prepare community college students for admission to law school in California. Program benefits include financial aid counseling, academic advising, LSAT prep, exposure to the legal profession and other steps designed to increase the interest of community college students in law school. Consider the AVC to CSU transfer pathway for quicker completion to transfer to a CSU. Make your appointment with our counselors for proper planning. 

 

Partnered Law Schools

logos for 8 law schools which includes UCLA, UCI, USF, UCD, UCB, Santa Clara, Loyola Marymount, and USC

 

Service Learning Requirement

Students are required to complete a minimum of 5 service hours every semester (10 hours max per year).  Qualifying activities must be listed on the Service Learning Requirements Log/Point Sheet and must be approved beforehand, by the Pre-law club advisor. See below for club advisor names. More details regarding the Service Learning Requirement is here

 

Pre-Law Club

Pre Law Club Logo

 

Law Scholars are required to be an active member of the Pre-Law Club. Meetings are every Thursday at 4-5pm online via zoom. Email Sarahy at smejia10@avc.edu for the details. 

 

 

Law Scholars Committee

Dr. Erin Vines, Vice President of Student Services
(661) 722-6300 x 6303
evines@avc.edu

Dr. Jill Zimmerman, Dean of Student Life 
(661) 722-6300 x 6344
jzimmerman@avc.edu
 

Alberto Mendoza, Professor of Philosophy
Committee Chair & Pre-Law Club Advisor

(661) 722-6300 x 2151
amendoza2@avc.edu

Carlos Pinho, Professor of Administration of Justice
Pre-Law Club Advisor

(661) 722-6300 x 6716
cpinho@avc.edu

Diane Walker, AVUHSD Director of Industry Liaison & Post-Secondary Partnerships
(661) 575-1025
DWalker@avhsd.org

Frederick Hemker, Professor of Political Science
(661) 722-6300 x 6051
fhemker@avc.edu

John Vento, Professor of Political Science
(661) 722-6300 x 6494
jvento@avc.edu

Kamryn Williams, Administrative Assistant of Student Life
(661) 722-6300 x 6196
kwilliams137@avc.edu

Rosa Fuller, Professor & Counselor
(661) 722-6300 x 6290
rfuller@avc.edu

Towana Catley, Counselor 
(661) 722-6300 x 6873
tcatley@avc.edu

 

Useful Resources

 

Last updated: November 10, 2020